Society for the Confluence of Festivals in India SCFI
Satyanarayan Puja » Satyanarayan Puja Preparation
Satyanarayan Puja Preparation

Satyanarayan Puja Preparation

Hindus generally offer their prayers and rituals through a puja that is performed in temples or homes. Satyanarayan puja is done at home, and the main aim is to bring home good omen and blessings from the Lord. Whenever Hindus worship Lord Vishnu, one of the Trimurti Hindu Gods, they also perform Satyanarayan puja at the same time. The names of Satyanarayan refer to the Lord who lived in Andhra Pradesh much before 400 CE; he was the Lord of the Hindus and the incarnation of Lord Vishnu. There are five different parts f the Satyanarayan puja with placement of idols representing one stage of this ritual.

Prepararing for Satyanarayan Puja

Before the puja, it is very important to accumulate all the necessary items needed for the puja. This is the first step of preparation. According to the list, purchase all the items and place it in the room where the puja is to be performed.

On the day of the puja, spread a clean, new cloth in a clean room on top of a square and elevated platform. This shall serve the purpose of the altar.Sprinkle some holy rice rains across the cloth and position the pious kalash on the same. Now, you have to drape the second piece of cloth over that kalash, and then place the image of Vishnu on that cloth.

Gathering around the altar, devotees should be seated in lotus position before the puja begins. Light all the lamps before offering prayers to the Lord. Before the real puja begins, offer your prayers to Lord Vishnu, Ganesha and Shiva. Offer your prayers to goddesses Parvati and Lakshmi. Arrange several flower garlands and place them over the images of the deities.

Place the turmeric pods that represent Gods Shiva and Ganesha, the goddesses Parvati and Lakshmi and the Lord Indra, right on the altar towards the north of kalash. Now, you have to worship the nine planets and the sun by placing some betel leaves with areca nuts on them. Finally, you have to lay those areca nuts on the betel levels to represent the seven deities and Lord Indra of the eight quarters of the universe.